News:

They're not Philips heads, they're JIS.

Main Menu

Shifting problem after a drop

Started by Steppin Razor, Jan 14, 2024, 10:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steppin Razor

Hi all.  I'm a newb rider, and while practicing, I dropped the bike on the left side coming off a stop sign.  It wouldn't shift after that, so I checked the lever to make sure it wasn't hitting and worked my way in from there.  I drained the oil, took off the clutch basket, and checked the gearshift arm, hoping it was a spring that popped off, but no luck. Turns out the drum stopper would not slot into the cam spots for it as I shifted it. I took the cam off and checked the pins, but they weren't bent. So I don't know where to go from here other than splitting the case, which I'm not knowledgeable enough to do on my own and costs could be as much as I paid for the bike.  This is the issue

The bike is in great shape otherwise, and titled.

Bob H

I am not a trans expert - but it is hard to believe such a low speed incident would damage your tranny.

Was the shift LEVER impacted - BENT? Dropping a bike usually damages a clutch or brake lever on the handlebars, not something that actually transfers force to the transmission.

If it was my bike I would think outside the box, like putting it in gear and moving the rear wheel back and forth. It kind of sounds like a partial shift, maybe it can be bitch-slapped into compliance.

Looks like a really nice bike, how many miles on it?
1993 Nighthawk 750

Steppin Razor

13,500.  It's in otherwise great condition, no dents on the tank, no chrome pitting on forks or fenders, clean exhaust. Just a little clearcoat fade on the side panels.

It seems crazy to me too, and everyone else I've asked for help from (FB groups).  All I can figure is maybe it was a straw that broke the camel's back on something else that was ready to go.  Given the condition of the bike though, that would surprise me just as much.