News:

Excuse me, but is that your pig?

Main Menu

Alloy wheels to spokes

Started by AussieLoki, Jul 24, 2024, 04:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AussieLoki

Hello folks! I'm new to the nighthawk scene and been loving my 2001 going up and down the coast of sunny Australia. Only thing I would change is the wheels from the alloys to spokes while retaining a front disk brake, does anyone know of a swap that would work? Thank you and have a good day/night!
Rattles and squeaks=character

Larry Fine

Welcome to the forum.

I don't know, but I imagine that it would be easier to swap the entire fork and wheel from a bike with the same 41mm fork tube diameter.
'72 CL450
'73 CB750
'82 CB750SC

'96 CB750ST
'01 ST1100
'96 ST1100

AussieLoki

Thank you! I'm a new but 3rd gen rider so this is all very exciting to me.
Any suggestions for the front fork? I've been trying to fill my brain with us much wrenching information as I can for these bikes, as well with the rear wheel any idea if the US spec nighthawks wheel is a direct fit including the brake? I wouldn't imagine honda making it more difficult for themselves by having a specific alloys vs spoke rear brake.

mollusc

None of the US Nighthawks have stock spoked wheels as far as I know.
Seems like it would be a big downgrade, not least because you would have to run tubes instead of tubeless tyres.
1984 Honda Nighthawk 700S
2012 Honda NC700X
2005 Vespa GT200
1982 Yamaha Maxim 550 (sold)
2006 BMW R850R (sold)
1981 Honda CX500B (sold)

AussieLoki

I'm still running tubes with the alloys so not to much of a fuss to me. I'll have a look around and see what my options are, thank you!

Bob H

Quote from: AussieLoki on Jul 24, 2024, 04:02 PMI'm new to the nighthawk scene...
Only thing I would change is the wheels from the alloys to spokes while retaining a front disk brake...
Looks like you are into the Cafe Racer look (or someone before you did the modification).