News:

They're not Philips heads, they're JIS.

Main Menu

Fixing Spark Plug Threads... the "easy" way?

Started by cupid, Feb 20, 2024, 03:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cupid

I've come to find that the spark plug hole on cylinder 3 (3? the inner cylinder on the shifting side of the bike...) is all sorts of messed up. I have a helicoil kit on the way. With how tight the working area is with the engine intact, do you all think I might be better off pulling the engine apart? There's only one of me and I'm a novice with this level of work.
Current: '85 CB650SC, '23 C125 Super Cub
Former: '07 Ninja 250, '81 C70 Passport, '82 XJ650, '84 VT500C Shadow

Bob H

I think the time to figure that out is when you have the helicoil kit in hand, and the needed tools.
My 1993 NH 750 has pretty good access to all plugs when the tank is off.

I did a helicoil spark plug repair 40 years ago... so if I was doing that project today I would watch a bunch of youtube videos with particular attention to how you prevent any metal bits from going down the hole into the cylinder.
1993 Nighthawk 750

mollusc

Cylinders are numbered left to right when you're sitting on the bike, so I think you're talking about #2.

How many miles on the bike?  I would be inclined to pull the head and do a refresh or possibly even replace it if I could find one for a decent price.  Being a self-confessed novice this level of work might be beyond you though.
1984 Honda Nighthawk 700S
2012 Honda NC700X
2005 Vespa GT200
1982 Yamaha Maxim 550 (sold)
2006 BMW R850R (sold)
1981 Honda CX500B (sold)

Bob H

Interesting article that appears to be legit.
"Parts store kits that commonly fail are Dorman, Helicoil and Save- Thread."

"Don't work on the spark plug hole without first making sure the valves are closed. Open valves can be damaged by tooling and when blowing shavings out, open valves can allow debris further into the engine."

https://www.wiseautotools.com/blog/spark-plug-thread-repair-dos-and-donts/